Thirtythree (33) Baguio taekwondo athletes received recognition on Monday, July 24 from the city
council led by Acting Mayor Faustino Olowan through Resolution No. 329, Series of 2023 for winning gold, silver, and bronze medals, respectively, in the New Face of the Year National Taekwondo Championship held at the Ninoy Aquino Stadium in Malate, Manila last May 20 to 21, 2023. In the resolution, local legislators stated that the achievements of the medalists prove their distinct worth as world-class athletes thereby giving pride and honor to the City of Baguio and to the whole country.

The competition is categorized into novice and advanced players with five divisions, or the Senior, Junior, Cadet, Grade School, and Toddler classed separately for male and female competitors. Gold Medalists in the Sparring category are composed of Izech Brian Edwin, Charina Therese B. Chumawin, Hailey Skye A. Balad, Fances Hollie E. Nabejet, Stephen Percy C. Buasen, Alexa Rea D. Ramos, Jhazzy Drei K. Gopeng, Zacharian Kane N. Manaloto, Arthur L. Aludos Jr., Ady Rye G. Alquiza, Andrew Vincent Alexander L. Montalbo, Elijah Rae D. Ramos, Vince Harley G. Lonogan, Rain B. Ramon, Aithan Raphael E. Ogoy, and Jheizer Angelo Fernandez while Hailey Skye A. Balad, Winter Niamh Scarlet M. Abuan, Charina Therese B. Chumawin, Khia Mae G. Cortez, and Zeick
Andrei L. Tacay bagged gold medals in Individual Poomsae.

Meanwhile, Frances Hollie E. Nabejet, Raileigh Misha A. Noble, Arthur L. Aludos Jr., Carl Benz S. Carag, Zacharian Kane N. Manaloto, and Zachary Mitchel D. Galang captured silver in Individual Poomsae while Jaiden Mars S. Tauli, Ryan Clifton E. Nabejet, Zachary Mitchel D. Galang, and Lei B. Ramon collected silver medals in Sparring. Alexa Rae D. Ramos, Sean Vincent Michael N. Lee, Irish Nychole C. Buasen, Bernice Ria Athaleya L. Pascua, Maegan Zaniel E. Ogoy, and Kurt G.
Cortez won Bronze in Individual Poomsae while Carl Benz S. Carag, Cyron Chad B. Chumawin, Jethro K. Gopeng, and Suarez Marlowe S. Macalino got bronze medals in the Sparring category.

The event was supported by the Philippine Sports Commission and the Philippine Olympic Committee, highlighting the progress and development of young taekwondo practitioners in the

Sonia Nadia B. Botigan-UC Intern/ABN

Amianan Balita Ngayon