Lucena tankers bag 5 golds on Day 1 of Batang Pinoy

BAGUIO CITY  – Lucena City ace tankers Markus Johanne De Kam and Mervien Jules Mirandilla on Monday ruled their respective events in the swimming competition to power their team’s five gold medal haul in the opening action of the 2018 Batang Pinoy national championship co-hosted by Baguio City and Benguet. 
De Kam first captured the gold in the Boys 12-under 100-meter freestyle event with 59.11 seconds held at the Baguio Athletic Bowl swimming pool.
He defeated Johan Carlo Aguilen of La Union province, who took the silver, while John Marocenel Alagon of Las Piñas settled for the bronze, clocking 1:00.94 and 1:02.02, respectively.
Half an hour later, De Kam bagged his second gold by topping the 50-meter backstroke and clocked 32.27 seconds.
He beat Vince Leano Dalman of Dipolog City who finished with 34.78 seconds and Joshua Aban of Iligan City (35.30 seconds), who settled for the silver and bronze, respectively.
Mirandilla’s two golds came in the 100-meter freestyle (58.38 seconds) and 100 meter butterfly (59.92 seconds) in the boys 13-15 age category.
Meanwhile, Jordan Ken Lobos ruled the 50 meter breaststroke (32.41 seconds), also of the boys 13-15 age bracket.
The Laguna swimmers also got a big start by harvesting four golds capped by Roz Ciarale Encarnacion’s two golds harvest. She ruled the 200 meter individual medley (2:40.97) and 50 meter breaststroke (37.33 seconds) both in the girls 12-under category.
Roshanne Ysabell Biglete and John Marocenel Alagon reigned supreme in their respective events to add to Laguna’s gold medal haul. Biglete topped the girls 12-under 100 meter freestyle (1:04.81) while Alagon ruled the Boys 12-under 100 meter freestyle (1:05.05).
Swimmers from General Santos and Quezon City splashed their way to get three golds.
Vince Leano Dalman of Dipolog City bagged the first gold winner in the meet by topping the 200 meter individual medley (2:42.20) of the boys 12-under field. He defeated Rob Jarel Balderas of host Baguio city (2:46.09) who settled for the silver while Busty Dwyne Jalandra took the bronze (2:54.90).
Registering one gold each in the pool were the teams from Tacloban City, Ormoc City, Makati City, La Union, Cotabato City, Puerto Princesa City and Parañaque City. PRIMO AGATEP / PNA

Amianan Balita Ngayon