Marcoses dominate Ilocos Norte top posts


BAGUIO CITY (May 11, 2022)—Incumbent Ilocos Norte Governor Matthew Marcos Manotoc won his re-election bid by landslide and will serve his second term for the next three years.

At the Sangguniang Panlalawigan Session Hall, Marcos Manotoc was proclaimed winner with 261,885 votes, compared to only 94,372 votes for his rival, former Congressman Rodolfo “Rudy” Fariñas.

Gusto kong magpasalamat sa mga kakailian po namin. Dios ti agnginga (Thank you very much). Many many thanks. As we have said in the past, Ilocos Norte leads the Solid North and it’s truly an honor and a pleasure to work here in Ilocos Norte as your Governor,” he remarked after the proclamation ceremony. 

While the Team Marcos secured key positions in Ilocos Norte with First District Congressman-elect Ferdinand Alexander “Sandro” Marcos, who got 108,423 votes, and Second District Congressman Angelo Marcos Barba getting re-elected receiving 127,867 votes.

Re-elected Vice Governor Cecilia Araneta-Marcos also saw a landslide win with 267,896 votes. 

Victorious First District Board members are Atty. Saul Lazo (88,031 votes), Atty. Franklin Dante Respicio (83,423 votes), Atty. Donald Nicolas (81,633 votes), and Ms. Portia Salenda (78,890 votes). Elected at the Second District as Board Members are Mr. Rafael Medina (88,094 votes), Dr. Medeldorf Gaoat (81,181 votes), Mr. Giancarlo Crisostomo (61,678 votes), and Mr. Jonathan Torralba (57,540 votes.)

Winning candidates from other political parties, on the other hand, complete the set of provincial officials: Junior Fariñas, who was re-elected as a provincial board member and received the most votes (90,259), earning him the title of Senior Board Member; and Second District Board Member Aladine Santos (63,035 votes), an independent candidate.

Artemio A. Dumlao