Amianan Balita Ngayon editor in chief and publisher Thomas Antonio Picana was elected president of the Baguio Correspondents and Broadcasters Club Tuesday at the Benguet Electric Cooperative board room. The veteran newsman, who has more than 30 years of experience under his belt,  is set to replace outgoing president Joseph Cabanas of DZEQ as he and his set of officers are to prepare for the 60 year old club’s decade old project, the Lucky Summer Visitors and the Media Camp.

The unchallenged Picana said that he will look into the welfare of his fellow mediamen including a regular insurance, the establishment of a trust fund, and hopefully, find housing for those without a house. The part time real estate agent said that he hopes to realize the dream of his journalism-mentors like the late Gerry Evangelista, Sr. to give local media a permanent house. Elected officers to serve with Picana for 2024 and 2025 are Dexter See of the Public Information Office – Baguio, Dionisio Dennis of DZWT and Freddie Rulloda for vice present for print, radio and television in that order;  Pigeon Lobien as secretary and Ma. Elena Catajan as treasurer.

The two write for Amianan and past presidents of the organization. Voted members of the new board of directors are all past presidents – former SunStar Baguio editor Roderick Osis, Baguio Midland Courier editor Harley Palangchao, two time Palanca awardee for poetry Franklin Cimatu of Rappler and Aldwin Joseph Quitasol of Daily Tribune. The last, the pandemic president, edged Manila Bulletin and Amianan correspondent Rizaldy Comanda. Picana set that he will convene his officers to discuss  plans for the LSV and Media Camp, so he can set the motion the preparation for the most iconic program of the BCBC.


Amianan Balita Ngayon