A boxer from the University of Baguio, an obstacle course race champion as well as gold medal winners in the last Southeast Asian Games from the Cordilleras were among those feted during the annual Philippine Sportswriters Association awards last Monday at the Diamond Hotel Manila.
The 2020 Olympics silver medalist Carlo Paalam was among the top honorees of the annual awards presented by San Miguel Corporation where Olympics gold medalist Hidilyn Diaz was named the athlete of the year for the second straight time.

While young tennis player Alex Eala was bestowed the PSA President’s Award, Paalam was among those who received the Major Awards along with Carlos Yulo (gymnastics); EJ Obiena (athletics); Philippine women’s football team; Meggie Ochoa and Kimberly Anne Custodio (jiu-jitsu); Junna
Tsukii (karate); Rubilen Amit, Carlo Biado, and Johann Chua (pool); Vanessa Sarno (weightlifting); Jovelyn Gonzaga and Sisi Rondina (volleyball); Esports organization Blacklist International; and jockey Jessie Guce and champion horse Boss Emong Kickboxing champions Renz Dacquel, Gina Iniong Araos and Jean Claude Saclag also received citation from the country’s oldest sportswriters group.

Young muay Thai player Islay Erika Bomogao was also present to receive her award. The Guinness Book of World Record setting Abahan was also among those cited outside of gold medalists along
with Chezka Centeno, Marie Antoinette San Diego, Efren Bagamasbad, Ronald Lomotos, Philippine Navy Standard Insurance, Philippine pencak silat team, Letran Knights basketball team, Joyce
Reboton, Dottie Ardina, Rianne Malixi, Kaizen dela Serna, Andrico Mahilum and Mark Julius Rodelas. Abahan won a gold in OCR in the 2019 SEAG held in Manila and she will see action in the
32nd edition in Cambodia.

The entities who received the same award are the Philippine National Volleyball Federation, and the Bases Conversion and Development Authority. Meanwhile, the Special Awards were: Abraham
Tolentino (Executive of the Year), Samahang Weightlifting ng Pilipinas (National Sports Association of the Year), Scottie Thompson (Mr. Basketball), Sarina Bolden (Ms. Football), and Diaz (Milo Champion of Grit and Glory). The Tony Siddayao Awards for the Junior Athletes of the Year by Milo went to William John Riley Go (karting), Aleia Aielle Aguilar (jiu-jitsu), Miguel Carlos (archery), Karl and Elaiza Yulo (gymnastics), Heleina Dominique So and Robert Dayanan Jr (karate), Micaela Jasmine Mojdeh (swimming), and the Philippine Junior chess team.

The Lifetime Award in Sports Journalism will be given to former editors Recah Trinidad, Ding Marcelo, Jun Engracia, Al. S Mendoza, Eddie Alinea and Percy Della, while late sports editors Joe S. Antonio and Ernesto Gonzales will be honored with the PSA Special award. Those who received the AoY for at least three times were: Manny Pacquiao, Luisito Espinosa and Nonito Donaire Jr. (boxing), Paeng Nepomuceno and Bong Coo (bowling), the late Lydia De Vega (athletics) and Efren
“Bata” Reyes (billiards). De Vega was also inducted into the PSA Hall of Fame in recognition of her
astounding achievements in and out of the country. De Vega’s bosom buddy, Elma Muros-Posadas, the undisputed long jump queen of Philippine athletics, got a Lifetime Achievement Award.

Pigeon Lobien/ABN

Amianan Balita Ngayon