To recognize the unwavering commitment, effort, competence, dedication, and exemplary performance of outstanding Barangay Health Workers (BHWs) in their respective Local Government Units (LGUs), the Provincial Government of La Union (PGLU) through the Provincial Health Office recognized them during the BHW Health Summit on October 18, 2023 at Hotel Ariana, Paringao Bauang, La Union.

The 10 Outstanding BHWs are Caroline V. Anengyao of Naguilian; Tresenia A. Allas of San Juan; Bella F. Tangalin of Bauang; Letecia C. Is-Isa of San Gabriel; Luz G. Andaya of Bacnotan; Leonora L. Dela Cruz of Agoo; Norman D. Orfiano of Balaoan; Josephine L. Alambra of Santo Tomas; Cleofas C. Mangaoang of Aringay; and Rose Marina A. Maglaya of the City of San Fernando. Awardees were conferred with a certificate, plaque, and cash prize amounting to P10,000.00 each.

Other nominees were given a Certificate of Recognition and a consolation prize from Gov. Rafy Ortega-David. They were Florencia M. Ordoño of Santol; Fe H. Valdez of Luna; Dionisia C. Piaoan of Sudipen; Helen B. Rosario; Nieves S. Munio of Bangar; and Arsenia G. Estacio of Rosario. Gov. Raphaelle Veronica “Rafy” Ortega-David graced the occasion and assured the BHWs that the PGLU is doing its best to provide for their needs.  She stated, “Narinig po namin ang kailangan ng mga BHWs. Allow me to commit as early as now, na ang buong probinsya po natin o ang 576 barangays, kukumpletuhin po natin ang basic medical equipment ng mga BHWs at uniforms.”

In coordination with the Department of Health-Center for Health Development I (DOHCHD I), the summit and the Sangapulo a Naisangsangayan a Barangay Health Workers ti La Union Awarding Ceremony were participated in by local government officials and speakers from the different partner agencies. It also served as an avenue for learning while securing commitments and mobilizing additional resources to help the province accelerate in all aspects of health programs. “We gathered here for the same purpose.

To celebrate the unwavering dedication and selflessness of our BHWs. We come together to acknowledge the contribution, and to honor the 10 outstanding BHWs and to exemplify the fruit of excellence, dedication, and excellence in the field,” said SP on Health Hon. Ruperto M. Rillera, Jr. DOH-CHD I Regional Director, Dr. Paula Paz M. Sydiongco acknowledged the efforts and sacrifices of BHWs and said, “I want to commend the Provincial Government of La Union for the creation of Ordinance No. 172 2019, entitled the Creating the Sangapulo a Naisangsangayan a Barangay Health Workers (BHWs) ti La Union Award.”

Participants listened attentively to lectures rendered by Keynote Speaker and Former City of San Fernando Mayor Ms. Mary Jane Ortega as she discussed Women Empowerment. BHW Accomplishments were presented by Ms. Geraldine Peralta. Nurse IV Ms. Laurence Navarro of the DOH-CHD I oriented the BHWs on the Universal Health Care Implementation, followed by a lecture on the Retention and Continued Service of Barangay Health Workers by Local Government Operations Officer II Mr. Hedrich V. Calderon of the Department of the Interior and Local

Forming a crucial part in La Union PROBINSYAnihan, BHWs serve as immediate frontliners on the ground, especially in terms of healthcare. Their role is crucial in the access to health equity, collecting information for community profiling, health advocacies, and community-based interventions. They are local heroes for the reason of their unending quality healthcare services to keep their community healthy.

Renerose Beninsig, GPC-PHO

Amianan Balita Ngayon