PGLU, COMELEC spearheads election ballots turnover; aim for clean, peaceful and safe election


With the primary aim for clean, peaceful, and safe elections, the distribution of Commission on Election (COMELEC) 2022 Official Ballots has commenced today, May 2, 2022, at the Provincial Capitol, City of San Fernando, La Union.

COMELEC La Union Provincial Election Supervisor Atty. Marino V. Salas and Provincial Treasurer Janet D. Molina as the legal custodian received the ballots. Upon inventory and inspection, the ballot boxes were immediately turned over to the Local Government Units for ready distribution to the electoral boards on May 9, 2022.

A total of 959 ballot boxes arrived in the Provincial Capitol and will be used in La Union on May 9, 2022, for the National and Local Elections 2022.

The City Treasurer of the City Government of San Fernando was the first to receive their 124 ballots boxes followed by Bacnotan with 59 ballot boxes; Bangar 42 with ballot boxes; San Juan with 54 ballot boxes; San Gabriel with 23 ballot boxes; Santol with 20 ballot boxes; and Sudipen with 27 ballot boxes.

All other Municipal Treasurers are also scheduled to receive their respective ballots today with the following breakdown of distribution Agoo 75 ballot boxes; Aringay 56 ballot boxes; Bagulin 16 ballot boxes; Balaoan 48 ballot boxes; Bauang 88 ballot boxes; Burgos 14 ballot boxes; Caba 33 ballot boxes; Luna 50 ballot boxes; Naguilian 61 ballot boxes; Pugo 22 ballot boxes; Rosario 65 ballot boxes; Santo Tomas 46 ballot boxes; and Tubao 36 ballot boxes. Securing the safety of the ballots, also present were representatives from the Philippine National Police.

Atty. Salas asserted that La Union is now 99% ready for the 2022 Elections and has committed to preserving the sanctity of the ballots. In addition, he also reiterated that for health protocols, only a face mask is required and there is no need to present a vaccination card.

Photos by Edmar C. Bacani and Jefferson V. Lorenzo, PIO