Week 2 of Fil-Am begins

BAGUIO CITY (12 Dec) – Actions resume in the 70th Fil-Am Invitational Golf Tournament after the ceremonial tee were fired at the Camp John Hay and Baguio Country Club golf courses today (Dec. 12).
Fil-Am co-chair Tim Allen of John Hay and Anthony de Leon of BCC look at a good playing week for the second of play for the biggest and oldest amateur golfing event.
“So we will have another exciting week of golf and with the good weather, we expect happy players every after playing date,” Allen and de Leon said after hitting the tee with local officials.
Some 700 players are expected to see action again in the six days of competition.
Attention, however,  will be on Saturday when the country’s top young par-busters start their bid for the Fil and Am Championship trophies.
Leading the race is defending champion Manila South woods which is expected to be led by 15-year old Sean Ramos, who helped Team Philippines to bronze finish in team competitions during the South East Asian Games.
Out to foil the Carmona, Cavite team’s championship bid is one time winner Forest Hills. Royal North woods and Team Time Cargo Logistics complete the cast in the top flight.
Southwoods also lead the Am Championship flight and they defend against Islander Mizuno, Forest Hills and Batangas Barakos.
Fil-A will have eight teams with X1R Mizuno, Silicon Valley Golfers Link I, Che Lus I, E. Sparta, Team Surigao I, Uragun Golf, Tsikoy and Club Salami.
Am A will have seven teams: Leeward Fil-Am, Phil. Navy Sunrisers, Benlife Producers Bank Liloan, Greenwater Golfers, Sultan Kudarat Miners, Bulakenyos 2.0 and Mabalacat City/ JA Global.
Fil B will have co-host BCC, Central Florida, Fil-Am Japan, Venturelink-Robros-Jayworx Golf Team, Summit Point Golf and Country Club, Cool Jocks, Team Brookside and Rural Bankers II.
Am B will have Benlife Villa Cacho, Crown Legacy, Srixon IMG, Camp John Hay Manor, Team City of Vallejo, X1R Mizuno, TGIS Davao and Kiss Juice Apple.
It will be a full house Fil C with 12 teams namely Batch 92 GC, Fil-Am League of Golfers Chicago, Dugong Bughaw, PhilCan Torotno, Royal Northwoods – El Masfino, GMJ 2005 Const & Dev’t Corp., GOC Kuyangs, Fil-Golfers of New York, Ultraflite GC I, Che Lus II, Filgolfers of Hawaii and Mountaineers GT 1.
Am C will also have the same number with Team Toyota, Green Jacket GC, Mountaineers GT II, CJH, BCC, Benlife GT, Silicon Valley Gilfers Link II, Team Surigao Ulopan, Filgolfers of Honolulu, Waterlympics Clark, Monterey and Tiyo Paeng Golfers of Davao.
Fil D will see 13 teams eyeing podium finishes, namely: Baguio City GT I, Macquarie Links Sydney, Isabela Golf Club – Leaders, Miners GT, Boysen, Team Integral, Baguio Blue Blood, Team Surigao Maguilas, K & G/MGC, Square and Compass of Nueva Ecija, Isabela GC – Producers, Moto and Yokosan.
Am D will have Rural Bankers I, Baguio Natives, AAA Agri Corp., Cool Jocks, Team Surigao I, Che Lus I, Summit Point Gilf and CC, Central Florida, Ventureslinks-Robros-Jayworx GT 1, Ultraflite, Royal Northwoods, Fil-Golfers of New York and Fil-Am League of Golfers Chicago.
Flight F is the biggest with 16 teams each. Fil E will Razcals I, A-1 MGC, Pacific Rim, Melocontrak Corinithians, Autocamp Travellers, Islanders-Mizuno, Baguio City Golf Team II, Nueva Ecija Travellers, Kiss Juice Orange, Leopard Enterprises – LMG, Eton, Fairgolf Club of Sydney, Sandiwa, Team Kumpadres, Tieza Club Intramuros Golf Course Team A and Team Surigao II.
Am E include Uragun Golf, Ultraflite Golf Club II, Fil-Am Japan, Tieza Club Intramuros Golf Course Team B, Macquarie Links Sydney, Pacific Rim, PhilCan Toronto, Yokosan, Fairgolf Club of Sydney, Royal Northwoods – El Masfino, Ventureslink Robros-Jayworx GT 2, Team Surigao Magilas, Tieza Club Intramuros – A, Silicon Valley Golfers Link I, Batch 92 and Team Surigao II.

Amianan Balita Ngayon