Photo Caption: 11TH SEASON DONE. Baguio Apaches chief Jonathan Vergara poses with his members including former councilor Richard Carino, 2nd right, during the Baguio Apaches Annual Golf Tournament last Saturday at the Baguio Country Club golf course. Corutesy of Monch David

Four players scored identical seven over 68, but a former United States Marines turned mixed
martial arts coach who tried to seek office the last two elections was named the over-all champion in the 11th Baguio Apaches Annual Golf Tournament last Saturday at the Baguio Country Club golf
course. Christian Villareal, better known as coach Cricket, was declared winner with his seven handicap beating Amor Fores, former councilor Tony Boy Tabora and former caddy and Canada based Manuel Pucay. Instead, the three were declared winners in Class A with the retired US serviceman Fores taking the Class A title taking into account his back nine where he scored better
than Tabora, also an eight handicapper.

In fact the two finished with a net 60. Meanwhile, Pucay, older brother of former pro player Mars, finished with a net score 59 due to his higher handicap of nine. In fact, the four to finishers finished with similar Molave points of 47 where a par scores three points. In class B, Glen Malabato was the top class B player with his gross 76 for a net 60 or 39 Molave points. Joe Agoot and Franco Aoyong took second and third places with their gross 77 and net 61. Mannix Nerona came in with a gross 88 and 62 net to take Class top honor with Maranan and Edmund Llanes settling for the second and
third places, respectively.

In women’s competition, Demma Dulnuan was a class above all female participants as she matched the top male players with an eight over 69 for a net 61 with her eight handicap. She scored 46 points in the Molave system. Mavic Tan submitted a gross 84 for a net 61 and 31 Molave points to take second place, while Lanie Julian completed the podium with her gross 89 for a net 68. Meanwhile, the special awards were given to Carlo Maranan, son of former chief Nap, had the most accurate drive at hole number 8 (on the line), Sandy Geron had the nearest the pin at number 1 (29
inches) and Henry Rosito made the longest drive at hole number 3 (326 yards).

Pigeon Lobien/ABN

Amianan Balita Ngayon